One True Fear

one true fear
dwells in me
a phobia beyond compare
that of being
eaten alive
by gator, shark, or bear
of course this fate
would be made worse
if perhaps I could not see
to become a meal
in the dark
how frightening that would be
and if by chance
the attack occurred
inside some confined space
a buried coffin
a sinking car
a fear I could not face
and what if help
was within reach
if only I could scream
my voice is lost
I’m paralyzed
as if I’m in a dream
pick up the phone
to call for help
hear nothing but dead air
then heavy breathing
oh my God!
hello is someone there
should I escape
will i survive
the treatments for the maul
i dread the pills
stuck in my throat
and that noxious cotton ball
so now you know
my one true fear
that has made me such a wreck
nothing worse
than eaten alive
well…perhaps a turtleneck

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

5 responses to “One True Fear

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,901 other followers

