Flash Friday

Jubilee Summerhouse by Amdega: My dream Writing Shed.

Heavy Sigh

by Susan Warren Utley

Long day

Big changes

Sad and awkward goodbyes

Fond memories

Moving forward

Tomorrow improvise

 

Introducing Flash Fridays on Creative Procrastination:

I found this little poem in one of my journals today.  At first I couldn’t recall what happened that day or what inspired me. Seems like I’ve had to say a lot of goodbyes lately. Then it hit me. This was my first Unemployed Friday after five and a half years of delighting in Early Go Fridays with Sporthill/Amdega.  On Early Go Fridays, the factory in England closed down at about 10:30 East Coast Time and more often than not, my boss would send me home early extending my weekend as well. The day the factory closed forever I got more than just a few extra hours added to my Early Go Friday. It was a very surreal day for me but fortunately while some of the goodbyes were final, a few were just “for now.”  Even though we no longer share an office, I get together about once a week with my good friend Donna over at Twin Creeks Musings  to swap farm stories, share craft ideas and brainstorm on how we’re going to become millionaires.

As for moving forward, I feel good about the direction I’m heading in. The writing is going well and I am making progress in the editing phase of the manuscript. Even Creative Procrastination is getting much needed attention without taking too much time away from the writing goals. In an effort to keep the content fresh, while at the same time adhering to the new writing schedule, I recently added Wordless Wednesdays in which I feature a simple photo to be viewed for pleasure or to act as a writing prompt. I wish I could say it was my brainchild but if you do a quick Google search you’ll find it a regular feature on many blogs. Now, in honor of the passing of Early Go Fridays but still in keeping with the general idea of adding just a few extra hours to my weekend, I am introducing Flash Fridays. Here I will feature pithy little posts of flash fiction, poetry, or other tidbits that might strike my fancy. This one is my brainchild and has no connection with the Flash Friday of urban legend in which hot chicks flash their boobs alongside California highways. There will be no boob flashing here.

Yes, my weekends are pretty long these days and even though I’ll never get to own an Amdega Summerhouse, I haven’t let go of the idea of building my own Writing Shed. For now, it is a work in progress. Kind of like me. Featured last week on Wordless Wednesday, here’s a photo of my new summer office and future riverside location of my dream Writing Shed, plans currently in revision.

Photography by Susan Warren Utley

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

3 responses to “Flash Friday

  • The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife

    That hammock is so inviting! And your dream Writing Shed is beautiful :) Hopefully the hammock will suffice until your shed is built. I tried creating an area in the house especially for writing and reading, with calming floral wallpaper bordering a soft purple paint… but found it just didn’t work for me. Sitting in the middle of the house with a computer and pups running around seems to be my place.

  • Twin Creeks Llamas

    Great post. You evoked a lot of buried emotions. I, too, am enjoying my unemployed freedom, but I am still swamped with guilt over not bringing in any dollars. I don’t have a personal goal, as your writing has been allowed to blossom with your extra free time. All I can say is that I don’t resent the daily mowing like I did when I’d have to come home after a day at the office and spend an additional 2-3 hours on the tractor. Now I just put on my headphones and head out with a smile on my face. Mowing and farm chores have become my full time job. Not a bad life, just no money in it.

    • Susan Warren Utley

      I know. I still get sad on occasion. We have to keep scheduling our outings and we also have a birthday lunch to plan. Like your farm chores, my writing still doesn’t pay. But I’m just learning to do without. Like resisting the purchase of wool felt at Michaels the other day! It was difficult but I actually came home and forced myself to pick up my knitting needles and $70 worth of yarn that I had shipped from England. (pre-redundancy of course!) See you in a week or so!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,283 other followers

