Nanowrimo Winner

Yes, it’s true. You are reading the blog of a first time Nanowrimo Winner. For you unfamiliar with Nanowrimo it stands for National Novel Writing Month. So my first novel has been written and now it is on to the editing phase. It’s hard to make that switch from writer to editor but that is my goal over the next few weeks. In truth, since November 28th when I hit the 50,000 word mark, I put the novel away until only last night when I ran a spell check for the first time. Boy was that scary! Having a goal of 1667 words per day does not allow you to worry about spelling or grammar. You simply have to ignore the inner editor and write. For those of you interested in the process you can pick up a copy of “No Plot, No Problem” at any book store. It was written by Chris Baty the founder of Nanowimo and it really helps to jump start the whole process. I’ll write more about that later. So into the editing phase I go and hopefully I will have something to print up in ten days. That’s when I fly home for Christmas and my goal is to hand my mother my manuscript. Wow. I’m an author. I wrote a novel.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

Leave a Reply

