Thirties Row is in the Mail!

This months thirties row is in the mail to my sister! Yippee! Can’t post a photo here until she has received it because I don’t want to spoil the surprise. So here is how it works. Each month…okay maybe not each month although that is our true intention…we each create a 40″ row using thirties prints. Each row must have at least one three dimensional element. As is always the case, we create the row first and then beat our heads against the wall trying to come up with a three dimensional element that usually ends up as a prairie point. Fortunately this month the head beating paid off and I actually came up with something different and then transformed the idea into something truly original just by playing with it a little. I am sure that some quilter somewhere has done what I did and it probably has a name but for now I will call it Susan’s Three Dimensional Square To Flower Transformation with Button Embellishment copyright July 2007! LOL! Will work on posting pics of all rows this month so we can track our progress.For my next thirties row I decided last night that I would try working backwards and begin with the 3D element. I have always wanted to try making Yo-yos so I got online and found a nice set of instructions posted at Quilters Cache.I made six in a very short time and they turned out so cute! I can’t imagine doing an entire coverlet though. Ouch on the fingers! Anyway, so this is my 3D element for the next row. Sorry Sister, I spoiled the surprise. But who knows what they will be…flowers? grapes? Who knows!Also mailed the July Red White & Blue Challenge Block today to Ruby in Arizona. Must get to work on August! Happy Quilting!

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

Leave a Reply

