My Lucy

Lucy, originally uploaded by susieiz.
This is my Lucy. She is a Jack Russell Terrier (JRT). She was born on January 30th, 2007 the middle child of three. Mother: Smudge Father: Rosco She was the only female in the litter. The oldest pup is RJ who found a home with our friend Josh. RJ has two patches on his eyes. Lucy’s younger brother..I forget his name…has a single patch and Lucy has none. Lucy has a combination of her mother and father’s coat. Smudge is curly and Rosco is smooth. Lucy is broken.
The JRT is the one breed I promised myself I would never own because I had heard so many stories about their strong willed personalities, non-stop on-the-go energy levels and high intelligence. In a way I kept my promise. No one could ever “own” Lucy. She does live up to her reputation. She can sit, shake, high five, beg, play hide ‘n seek, dance, roll over, fetch, wipe her feet, weave in and out between your legs as you walk, jump through a hoop, she knows “over , under and through,” she can show you where her nose is and die for her country but ask her to come and you are asking too much. Don’t get me wrong, she knows what it means and she knows how to do it…she just doesn’t feel like it. Unless of course there is something in it for her.
We also had some issues in the beginning with what I can pleasantly describe as temper tantrums. In reality it fell somewhere between a tazmanian devil and the exorcist…and she was only eight weeks old. She really tested my commitment but I persevered and eventually we got through it. Not without a few tears though. It all came down to showing her as much love as I could and maintaining a strong will.
Now I don’t know what I would do without her. We fit. And right now she is looking up at me wondering when I am going to get off the computer and play with her. So enjoy the photo and I’ll be back later.

 

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

One response to “My Lucy

Leave a Reply

