iWeb: Good for Something

 

 

JoanI was disappointed when I found out that iWeb can only be published to a .mac account. While I love my Mac OS I have become increasingly disappointed with many of Apple’s business tactics. It all started with “.mac” and “free for life.” But that is a rant for another day. Back to iWeb.

 

Apparently there is a work around solution out there for publishing sites created with iWeb even if you don’t have a .mac account. While you cannot publish direct, you can follow what are most likely a few fairly simple steps if you know what you are doing. However, it all seems rather complicated and I simply don’t have the time or the energy to attempt it right now.

Gates

 

So I have found a simple way to use some of the cool little iWeb graphics and features to create some interesting stuff for my blog. I use the Grab application to select the photo or graphic and then save it as a .tiff file. Then I open in Preview and save it as a jpeg. These were easy. Now on to something bigger.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

7 responses to “iWeb: Good for Something

  • Ralph

    Creative Procrastination
    Just another way to avoid doing the things I should be doing all the while contributing to a feeling of self importance that I lack when avoiding the things I should be doing.

    Is this your? I love it!

    I would love to procrastinate, but I never seem to get around to starting 😉

  • No One of Consequence

    Thanks TJ! I appreciate the link. I’m going to give it a try.

  • TJ

    This site has a complete visual tutorial on how to upload your iWeb site folder to your service provider using FTP. Says Fetch does not work so well. Recommends using Cyberduck because it works better and is free.

    http://guimkie.com/iweb/uploading-your-iweb-site-to-your-server/

  • ikarl67

    Making a page look great is EXTREMELY easy with iWeb as is publishing to a folder then FTPing to a host. However, all of the functionality is lost. I love apple as well, but dropping $100 a year on .mac and $80 every other year on iLife / then $130 every other year on a new OS9 gets old. Not to mention hardware upgrades every 4-5 years!
    I am thinking about starting to Blog. I have a .Mac account
    link but have been reluctant to put a Blog there. My .Mac is mostly family stuff and I may want to have content on my blog that is should not be seen by all my family. I would really like to learn to make the look my own and not be confined to templates. With Blogger.com, I can edit edit HTML/CSS yet with wordpress.com the templates look pretty good already.

    What I would REALLY like is to be able to publish using iWeb and retain ALL functionality.

  • No One of Consequence

    Thanks Jason. One of these days I will give a it a try!

  • Jason

    It’s actually really easy to publish your iWeb site to a folder and then upload that via ftp to your own server.

    File>Publish to a Folder

    I like to use Fetch for ftp http://fetchsoftworks.com/

Leave a Reply

