Writer’s Digest Annual Writing Competition

Writer’s Digest is now accepting submissions for their 77th Annual Writing Competition. The deadline is fast approaching so act fast. There is a small entry fee for each submission. Entries can be submitted online by Thursday, May 15, 2008 for those able to pay by credit card or be mail if paying by check. Be sure to read the rules to make sure your entry meets the requirements.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

3 responses to “Writer’s Digest Annual Writing Competition

  • Don

    I don’t think that paying to enter a contest is right. But in Writer’s Digest’s case, they are a legitimate magazine that I enjoy reading.

    I’m entering the contest and with my reading me I’m expecting a personalized rejection letter and not a form letter.

    And I need to get my but in gear. It’s in less than 15 days.

  • No One of Consequence

    “To my mind, editors pay writers, not the other way around. If someone wants to pay ME to read my work, that’s fine, but it doesn’t work the other way around.”

    I view Writer’s Digest as a source for writers that offers tips and advice on how to get published and I do think it is a magazine that people want to read. They hold an annual competition that offers monetary prizes and recognition for writers of all genres. If your work is top notch, you win a prize. That is why it is called a contest. I personally do not object to the nominal fee. It is kind of like buying a lottery ticket with the difference being that the winner is not chosen at random. Someone actually reads what you submit and they are paid a small fee to do so. Again, it is a contest. Now could you please tell me which editor/publishing house pays writers to read their work? I want their number.

  • Cliff Burns

    I never enter writing contests that charge a fee. To my mind, editors pay writers, not the other way around. If someone wants to pay ME to read my work, that’s fine, but it doesn’t work the other way around. If more writers said “no” to these contests, maybe these rags would find their income from other, more conventional sources. Like by putting out good magazines that people want to read…

Leave a Reply

