How to Make Quilted Napkins

The hens have it! The birthday napkins I whipped up for my friend’s birthday were a success. I think she really liked them and it made me feel good that she knows how much I appreciate our friendship.

These were fairly simple to construct. I made a simple nine patch measuring 18 1/2″ unfinished using two different greens and a cute chicken pattern in the center and corners. Then I cut an 18 1/2″ red square for the backing.

***Tip: 18″ is fairly standard finished size for dinner napkins but you can make them pretty much any size you want. My nine patch squares measured 6 1/2″ unfinished. If you decide to make them from your stash and don’t want to fret with the math, simply cut nine squares of equal size 5″ or better. Sew them together and then measure the finished nine patch. The cut an equal size square for the backing.***

Using a 1/4″ seam I sewed the two squares together good sides facing each other leaving a 3″ opening to turn them right side out. At the opening I turned the fabric inside a quarter inch and pressed.

***Tip: Once I turned each napkin right side out I carefully pressed each one using a chopstick to poke out the corner fabric and a wood paint stir stick to make a nice straight pressed edge. You can pick up a couple free stir sticks at any Home Depot or Lowes.***

I chose a dark green thread and using the zigzag setting on my machine, I stitched all the way around the outside edge of the napkin. This eliminated the need to hand stitch the opening and created a nice country feel to go with the chicken patterned fabric. Finally, I practiced my napkin folding techniques (not very good at that) and placed each napkin inside a carved wooden chicken napkin ring found at Pier 1.

Quick and easy!


About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

3 responses to “How to Make Quilted Napkins

  • Susan Warren Utley

    They were so easy Michelle! I think next time I would do some machine quilting in the center to make them easier to care for but overall my friend Donna loves them. Oh they are also economical. You can make a set four napkins for under $5, less if you use fabric from your stash which is what I did for the green. The chicken print was $1 at JoAnn’s.

  • Michelle

    Those are so ridiculously cute! I can’t sew to save my life, but I want some chicken napkins! We use only cloth napkins around here . . .

  • Nadya

    Thank you! I had the idea to make some quilted Hanukkah napkins for my best friend and I wanted to see if I could do it without top-stitching a decorative pattern. My older Bernina machine can definitely handle what you have outlined. Very clear directions and I loved your tips on the chopstick and paint stick!

Leave a Reply

