Am I breathing?

So it has been some time since I last posted but I warned you of that from the beginning. The past three weeks have been a true joy so I had no need to find creative ways to procrastinate. Savannah was here. The recent college grad came home this summer but only for a visit. She won’t be returning to this side of the country any time soon. She is a true Pacific Northwest Girl. You can’t take the Northwest out of the girl and you can’t take the girl out of the Northwest. So I spent three weeks enjoying each and every moment with her just soaking up the pure goodness of being together. In 2005 when she came home after her freshman year of college I wrote, “She’s home. She’s home and now I can breathe.” The feeling hasn’t changed. Now she’s gone again and I have to keep reminding myself to breathe. December can’t come too quickly.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

2 responses to “Am I breathing?

  • Susan Warren Utley

    It all goes by so fast! Enjoy every minute!

  • Jamie

    That was sweet. I’m sure I am going to feel that way when my kids go off to college…hell, I feel that way when I just send them to school for the day, I can’t imagine months at a time…breathing…lucky for me they’re still in the single digits…can you believe he’s going to be 10 years old next year???

Leave a Reply

