Another New Wrimo

Here is the blog of a young Wrimo who seems to have a great start on pre-planning for National Novel Writing Month:
La Plume de Mon Esprit:The Pen of My Mind: Rambles of a Wannabe Writer

For those of you who find yourself experiencing the NaNoJitters because you feel unprepared, here is my post to Mark on his blog:

Hi Mark! Congratulations on signing up for NaNoWriMo! I love your cover!

Listen, you may have the NaNoJitters right now but don’t worry about it! I signed up on October 28, 2006 and had only three days to prepare. On November 1st I had nothing. I found myself standing in a grocery store buying a bagel so my novel started with my main character standing in a grocery store trying to choose a bagel. Things just took off from there and my character and her back story just developed on their own like magic. On that first day I found out that she had just left her doctor/husband due to an affair he had been having with his receptionist, her father had passed away a year earlier, she left Boston for a small town in Nebraska and she met a very quirky character that morning in the grocery store who would eventually turn out to be the mother of her next door neighbor who was a professor/professional bird watcher. Where that all came from I have no idea. I finished that year well over 50,000 words with a completed novel. In 2007 I again started with no plot or characters. I knew the genre I wanted to write in but that was it. I reached my word count and continue to work on that novel. What will 2008 bring? I have no idea! But that is the fun of it!

So good luck to you! I would suggest reading No Plot? No Problem! It is a great book that will help get you through the month.

Your Fellow Wrimo, Susan

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

3 responses to “Another New Wrimo

  • Leigh Barlow

    Hey,

    I was just trawling to see who else was out there blogging about NaNo. No badge on my web site yet, but I’ll get that sorted later in the week.

    I admire anyone who can complete NaNo from a standing start, for me it’s more like the 3 Ps – plot, plan and plot. 😉

    Good luck with your attempt, I’m keeping fingers crossed for everyone who’s having a go, hoping everyone’s words flow fast and perfect.

    (Love your muse btw. 🙂 )

  • strugglingwriter

    That’s good advice. I have the jitters, not because I haven’t done any planning (I never do planning), but because I don’t know how I’m going to do all that writing again this year. Still, I’m excited for the challenge.

  • Mark

    Thanks Susan!

    You gave me some great tips, and I already have an urge to read your ’07 novel–sounds brill!

    Best of luck with your own NaNo this year, eh? I think it’s time to condense homework for a month and get writing–after all, that’s what I want to be looking back on the next few years.

    You get a place on my Blogroll 🙂

Leave a Reply

