NaNoWriMo Dictionary

nano_07_winner_largeInspired by one of my Wrimos who made a NaNoNewbie NaNoFlub in referring to us as NaNoWriMoers instead of Wrimos (Which I was quick to point out that his makes more sense as National Novel Writing Monthers as opposed to Writing Monthers…or does it?…I don’t know.)

Anyway…his word choice prompted my response which contained several of my favorite invented NaNo words such as:

NaNoNeeds which can be anything from sleep, chocolate or coffee depending on the occasion.
NaNoBuds which can be friends or beer again depending on the occasion.
NaNoJitters which is what I am feeling right now.
NaNoFrenzy will take over on November 1st.
NaNoFreedom on the 30th.
Finally, NaNoBlues which happens on or about December 1st.

So I posted a thread to our forum and have received some interesting new NaNoWords to add to the NaNoDictionary. My favorite so far and I wish I would have coined it myself is from elisgalpal:

“NaNoProcrastination which is what I am doing now when I should be figuring out character names at least or working on ideas and such. This becomes a dangerous situation when it is the middle of November and you’re nowhere near your 25,000 words you’re supposed to have.”

Officially taking submissions!

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

Leave a Reply

