NaNoWriMo: Finding Perspective

My new friend over at writer’s flow wrote a NaNoWriMo related post yesterday. She talks about her NaNo-related fears and insecurities and how she wonders how NaNoWriMo will fit into her life next month and how it will effect her relationships. If you are struggling with the idea of NaNoWriMo being just around the corner and want someone to identify with head over there and read It’s in the stars… In case you forgot, you are not alone! Whether it is your first NaNoWriMo or your third we all struggle with these things.

When I read janaflora’s post which featured a blurb from a horoscope for Taurus i just had to laugh out loud. I am a Taurus too and the horoscope suggested writing as a career and how it might provide the balance that we seek. The words NaNoWriMo and balance just don’t seem to go together. Although I have to admit that I have never felt more on top of things than during NaNoWriMo 2006. That was my first year and I only had three days to prep. Things could have and should have gotten a little crazy but for some reason everything just fell into place. The family was supportive and that helped but I did make a huge effort to write when they were fast asleep or busy with their own lives. I found myself writing at 4:00 in the morning and in the car while waiting outside the school. On breaks at work I would email myself short bits of story. Once I hit my daily word goal I would complete my day to day responsibilities as usual but with incredible speed. Then it was back to writing to get a jump start on the next day. I became Queen of the OCD and honed my multi-tasking skills. The whole process was such a confidence booster and I finished my novel without my life falling apart. NaNoWriMo 2007? Not quite the same experience. I’m not sure if it was one thing or many things that changed but I got off to a slow start with a surprise family trip the first week of November and my first year as an ML adding to my responsibilities. I had a plot and characters and then changed things up at the last minute. 5,000 words later I was back to the original story and a zero word count. It was a struggle and I never really seemed to get back in the swing of things.

NaNoWriMo 2008? I really don’t know what this year will bring. I write throughout the year but NaNoWriMo is a whole different animal than day to day writing or blogging. I would like to return to the days of NaNo 2006 when I seemed to have it all together. To be honest, I think the challenge this year will not be in the actual writing or developing plot and characters but in the mental aspect of things. I am not mentally prepared for the upcoming month. So this is my challenge. I need to deal with this. I need to face this thing head on and I have about eight days to organize my life and gain some perspective. I need a plan. I better get busy. I’ll let you know how I am doing.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo: Finding Perspective

  • Mark

    Ah the muse. It’s evil.

    Sometimes it’s your greatest friend, but then when you need its support, it just ignores you.

    *is nervous*

  • janflora

    Thanx for the link! I am hoping my first year goes as smoothly as yours did, though we all know the muse tends to come and go. Good luck with that plan!

Leave a Reply

