NaNoWriMo: Day Three

So it is the start of day three and I know I should be writing rather than blogging but I wanted to stop in and share my progress. The kick-off went well. We had ten people show. Five of us were returning from last year, one was an eight year (?) NaNoWriMo transplant who was to join us last year but we never saw him, one was a newbie with a fifteen month old at home and three were teenage newbies. I am so excited to find out how this experience will change them as writers and people. They were already so bright and full of ideas. It was great seeing them jot down their thoughts and smile while they were writing. NaNoWriMo is a good thing!

My goal was to hit 10,000 words by Sunday night but Saturday brought the unexpected. My mom was hospitalized with chest pain. It was a bit scary and I felt rather helpless. It turned out to be arterial fibrillation. Not good, but at least not a heart attack. Being 3,000 miles away there wasn’t much I could do to help but after that I kind of lost the urge to write. Dealing with the unimaginable all day, by evening there was no steam left for the imagination.

By Sunday morning all was well. My mom was still in the hospital and won’t be released until today but knowing she was safe I was able to double my word count from the day before and ended with just over 6,200 words. The story is shaping up. I started with no plot and no characters and now have introduced my MC, her foil and the three characters who will contribute to the plot. I am attempting a young adult novel as per my daughter’s advice. I read it aloud to her last night and she gave me the thumbs up. I feel pretty good about that because she is a very well read seventeen year old. She is also honest with me about my writing.

So I should get busy. My MC is calling. Take care and happy writing.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

One response to “NaNoWriMo: Day Three

  • janflora

    I am sorry to hear about your mom… i hope she is doing better today. Sounds like your novel is going well; i am greatly impressed and envious ;). Mine seems to be rambling along…I have 2 characters who both want to speak their point of view! Write on!

Leave a Reply

