Happy New Year!

Just a quick post to ring in the new year. It has been some time since I wrote last…looks like I was just beginning NaNoWriMo…so here is a quick update:

Crossed the finished line on November 30th with just over 50,000 words. It was a struggle but I loved it. My third novel, currently titled Monarch, is a young adult suspense thriller with a bit of the supernatural thrown in.

Took a break from the novel on the 1st of December to prepare for our upcoming holiday.

Celebrated TGIO on the 6th with several authors from the Shenandoah Valley region.

Left for Hawaii on the 12th and met up with my family in Kona. We shared a fabulous house overlooking the ocean for two and half weeks. Went snorkeling for the first time, tagged along on a Marlin fishing boat and swam with giant manta rays.

On the 22nd of December I married my love on a secluded beach just north of Kona. The ceremony was beautiful and I was so glad to have my family there to help us celebrate.

We returned to Virginia on the 29th and unfortunately brought an unexpected souvenir home with us in the form of a virus. It is the 4th of January and Robert and I are still miserably sick but I think maybe we are on the upswing.

So that is all the energy I have for now. I hope to back soon! Thanks for checking in!

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

One response to “Happy New Year!

  • janflora

    good to see you again…sorry it took me awhile to catch up :)…I was wondering what happened to you! So glad you were having “the time of your life” not just recovering from NaNoBurnout 🙂 CONGRATULATIONS!!

Leave a Reply

