Prepping for NaNoWriMo: Creating my Writing Space

Writing Studio & Creative Procrastination Station

NaNoWriMo provides me with so much more than thirty days of intense writing.  Pre-planning for NaNo is great becuase I get to do things that I put off throughout the year.  This year I am focused on creating my own personal writing space. For some reason I have always put it off. For years I was just too busy to even think about it and it was always one of those “one day” projects. Later when I had the time, I created guilt thinking claiming my own space would take something away from someone else. But circumstances have changed and I realize that not only do I have the space, I deserve to claim it.

So here is the Writing Studio/Creative Procrastination Station as a work in progress. I have an entire room devoted to what I love to do and what I want to learn how to do. Not only do I have a desk devoted strictly to creating fiction but I have a place for all my art and quilting supplies.  I plan to create zones within the room for each task and project. My plan for the walls will include a giant cork board, white board, and a felt board for quilt planning.
Writing Space 1

Note the blank manuscript page on the screen! Formatted and ready for November!

Writing Space 2

A room with a view.

Writing Space 3

My grandfather's typewriter will provide inspiration.

Writing Space 4

I do need to go chair shopping, but this one will keep me awake!

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

4 responses to “Prepping for NaNoWriMo: Creating my Writing Space

  • Tracy

    I just found your blog this morning while I was doing a bit of searching for other NaNo participants. This will be my first year participating and I’m excited and nervous all at the same time.

    I love your writing space – clean, simple, and beautiful. With a little over one week to go, I’m trying to figure out where I can do my best writing while hiding from the kids (sounds awful, but people will know what I mean).

    -Tracy

  • No One of Consequence

    Thank you so much for your comments. Jilong, you already see the most important element of your writing space and that is it belongs to you! Good luck in November and beyond! My NaNo user name is Susieiz if you want a buddy for support!

  • jllong

    That is an awesome space. I’m jealous of your having an entire room! I created mine recently in what we affectionately call “the Loft.” It’s a nice space but perhaps a little too snug. Oh well. It’s mine. I’m participating in NaNoWriMo this year as well. I’m a
    first-timer and a little nervous!

  • Naomi "Digitalfangirl" Williams

    I love your writing space. It looks like a space that enhances creativity and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

