New Year’s Resolutions 2010

I have been working on my 2010 New Year’s Resolutions. I decided that each resolution should be carefully thought out and each should have an impact on my emotional and physical well being. On the eve of the new year I have three resolutions that I have already set in motion and a few more that are works in progress. I also expect this list of resolutions to grow and change throughout the month of January as I ease myself into a new frame of mind and body.

#1: I shall avoid looking at train wrecks. My eyes are focused on the path ahead not the road left behind.

I have spent a great deal of time and energy this past year focused on things that I cannot change. I fret over decisions that others have made and how they will play out for them in years to come. In worrying about their health and happiness I have jeopardized my own. This year I take my life back.

#2: I shall no longer short myself on a good night’s sleep.

In January of 2009 I got sick. For a year I have battled a mysterious illness the effects of which have been substantiated but not explained. I have hopes that in January of 2010 I will finally have some answers and be on the path of recovery. For now, I will take things into my own hands and start with the basics of sleep. Plain and simple, sleep is just as important to our health as food and water. My body can no longer function or survive on four hours of sleep each night. I need my strength and energy to move forward and face head on whatever this is that has attacked my mind and body. I refuse to let it control me any longer.

#3: Adopt new routines to make my home a tranquil haven, clean and decluttered.

This is not an unfamiliar resolution. I have made it several times before and while I cannot say that I have truly failed each year, I certainly did not live up to my own expectations. I started yesterday with the Christmas tree and decorations. I then spent five hours in three rooms cleaning and decluttering and adding to the “donation station” in the basement. I am sore and tired today but I plan to push forward with the bedroom and bathrooms. My writing studio is a work in progress and I plan to devote a few hours each week to its transformation.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

2 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions 2010

Leave a Reply

