I was thinking about Seattle.

Mummy got sick.
It happened just like that.

Nobody could stop it.

It isn’t fair.
There’s no reason.

And if we start asking why,
we’ll go crazy.

Five minutes in the microwave.
Any one of them.

Do you know how to make juice?

Microwave. Five minutes.

Here. It’s my shrink.
Call him.

Loss of Spouse Support Group.

Chicago Cancer Family Network.
Parents without Partners.

“Hug Yourself”,
“Hug a Friend”, “Hug a Shrink” …

Work hard, that’ll save you.
Only work will see you through this.

Don’t mind him.
he’s just a guy who’s lost his wife.

What I think we really need is …
change.

Good idea. Take a few weeks off.
take Jonah fishing.

No, real change.
A new city.

Some place where I don’t think
of Maggie at every corner.

Where are you gonna go?

I was thinking about Seattle.

So yeah, I guess I’m thinking about Seattle. Not for a visit. For a change. We need a change. I need to get him out of here. I need to take him somewhere new. I need to find him some peace and get him away from the ones who don’t get it. So maybe Seattle. Maybe we’ll move to Seattle. Maybe we’ll buy a house that floats on the water. Maybe we’ll go fishing.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

2 responses to “I was thinking about Seattle.

Leave a Reply

