Torn

Two loved ones fighting for their lives,
two families in need of comfort,
two thousand miles between us.
I couldn’t be in both places
and I was torn.

While I held my husband, I could not comfort my father,
while I stayed with one, I could not go to the other,
while I held his hand, I could not hold hers.
Only one would hear my goodbyes
and I was torn.

My heart is heavy,
my body is weak,
my mind is dark and clouded.
Two have left me
and I am torn.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

4 responses to “Torn

  • No One of Consequence

    Dear Rhonda,

    Matt has been a very unexpected friend even before this tragedy. I appreciate his kindness, thoughts, and prayers. Just knowing he is there if I need to talk is of great comfort. Thank you so much for your kind words as well. You and Matt have suffered through your own losses in the recent years so please know if either of you need anything from me, I am here. Take care.

    Susan

  • Rhonda Adams

    I am very sorry for your loss and I can relate. I have recently lost an Uncle & great Aunt in two different places and was unable to be at either one side. They past away within a few days of each other.

    Matt is very concerned for you and you really should contact him, he just wants to be there for you, if needed. You will be alright, it may take time, but time does heel all wounds, no matter how big or small.

    Life is not easy and it is never easy to say goodbye, but it is one of life’s lessons, sometimes not easily learned. I am also here for youif you need someone to talk with, no matter what.

    Take care & your in our prayers.

  • No One of Consequence

    Thank you LaMishia. It means more than you know.

  • lamishia

    im so sorry. that doesnt cover it but it seems to be all i can say.

Leave a Reply

