Some call it stalking…I call it love.

So this post is written for an audience of one. You know who you are because you keep coming back here even though you would never want me to know that. But I have a secret too. I know who you are. Nifty little gadgets. So just admit it. You are a Blog Stalker. Not that it is a bad thing. After all, a Blog Stalker is by definition “someone who secretly reads someone’s blog with the express purpose of learning more about them without their knowledge.” Some call it stalking…in your case, I’ll call it love. Of course the second half of that definition reads “most stalkers are believed to be under a great amount of stress and mentally unstable.”

It’s true. Love can make you do crazy things. It can even lead to obsessions. Is a post just a post or is it a secret code disguised as a post? Is a train wreck just a train wreck? Is the liar just a character in a book? I guess you’ll never know unless you ask. But then that would mean admitting to being a Blog Stalker and admitting to things just isn’t your style. Is it? Right about now some of my blogging buddies are thinking, “What the heck are you doing calling a Blog Stalker out of the closet?” Don’t worry. It’s not as if I’m going to stand in front of the mirror and say Blog Stalker three times and expect her to appear. Oops, I said her. I guess I let that one slip and now my delete key is broken.

Okay, so it’s all out in the open now. I know you, you know me. You’ve been here. You’ve read my joys. You’ve read my sorrows. You’ve kicked me when I’m down. You’re good at that. Now move on. Live your life and let me go. I dare you. I will not directly address you again. I will however continue to write about train wrecks and liars. FYI: a train wreck isn’t literally a train wreck. It is a metaphor for a distraction on the side of the road and the road is a metaphor for life. So yes, by definition a Blog Stalker might in this case be considered a train wreck and therefore I must defer to New Year’s Resolution #1 and get back to my life. Bleak as it is right now, it is my life.

By the way, the liar really is just a character in a book. Or is she? Okay, now I’m just messing with you.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

3 responses to “Some call it stalking…I call it love.

  • :)

    Ya know, I believe I have underestimated you! But I just read that and I am thoroughly impressed. I believe I know to whom you are referring and I say, good for you. Just recently I have had to endure emotional changes in someone very near and dear to my heart and been tested as a parent (and in character as well) in more ways than one.
    My heart goes out to you both (you and she!) because while I am new to this “test” I, unfortunately, am NOT new to directing irrational anger at the wrong people. hopefully said train wreck will one day wake up and realize that fault does not lie WITH you or BECAUSE of you and a healthy relationship can grow from said destruction. fingers crossed!!
    I love you dearly!!! XO

  • No One of Consequence

    Tamara,

    Thanks so much for stopping in and I am so glad that I was able to offer you some encouragement during NaNoWriMo. It is a monumental task we take on! But it can certainly pay off. Did you know one of our very Shenendoah Valley Writers submitted a couple chapters of her NaNoNovel to an agent who has now requested the entire manuscript? So exciting!

    Life has been tough on my family lately but with friends like you, we are going to get through this. I appreciate your kind words.

    Take care and happy writing!

    Susan

  • Tamara

    Sorry to hear you’re having to deal with so much unpleasantness right now. I just wanted to thank you again for helping me with my NaNoWriMo novel. Your encouragement and our meet up helped get me over the hump and across the finish line; without it, I’m not sure I would be able to say that I have written a novel. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

