On One Inch Frames and Writing

When my writing starts feeling a little stale, I pull one of my writing books off the shelf to search for inspiration. This time it is Anne LaMott’s Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life.  This prompted me to dig out an old inch frame I thought I would never have a use for and set it upon my desk. Using Anne ‘s technique to break down a large writing project into smaller pieces I found success. Basically, you write what you can see and fit into that tiny space and then move the frame. Fascinating concept that really works.

This little jump start has made April a very busy writing month. (Don’t let the lack of blog posts at Creative Procrastination fool you. When I’m not here I’m usually doing something a lot more exciting.)  My novel Leaving Lucy saw some major edits in chapters 1-4 and my WIP Living in Pieces is heading in a new direction that I am very happy with.  I also reviewed several products for MomGadget and have several more in the works. All of this and a ten day road trip/mini-break.

My goal for May is to create an outdoor writing space down by the river in our new clearing.  I am thinking something small and cozy with a view.  My first thought is a sort of tree house in a large three pronged tree near the bank. Just a platform of sorts with a ladder. Later in the summer I am thinking a small A-frame where I can keep some writing tools (journals, pens, pencils, paints, canvas) and an old green army cot to drag outside on sunny days.

Just thinking about writing outside makes me want to get off the keyboard and get some fresh air! Going outside now to do some planting in the garden. Have a great day.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

Leave a Reply

