Too Old for a Treehouse?

Since January, my time spent outdoors has multiplied tenfold. More of my waking hours are spent down by the pond or on the river with the dogs than in the comfort of my own home. My body is loving the fresh air and sunshine and my soul has found a peaceful easiness that comes over me while I sit and listen to nothing but the sound of the river flowing by.

One day I took a notebook with me and started jotting down some ideas while I sat by the river; shopping lists, camping supplies, landscaping ideas, and general to-dos. These were just simple lists but my brain just seemed to function better outside. It was then I decided I simply had to follow through on my dream of a writer’s retreat by the river.  I have explored many options; tiny houses, cabins, sheds, gypsy caravans, and cargo containers to name a few. The choices are plentiful and still I have yet to settle on the perfect design. However, I have decided to pursue one option that is more immediate than the rest; one that does not require a foundation and solves the dilemma of the floodplain.  A treehouse. I know what you are thinking, “Aren’t you a little old for a treehouse?”  Absolutely not!  Tarzan had a treehouse. Ever heard of the Treesort in Takilma, Oregon?  What about that tree that housed a whole Swiss family? More and more, people are exploring new heights to vacation, to live, to find solitude. I will use mine to write.

My “treesort” will start out as a simple platform in a three prong tree on the river’s edge and will grow from there. Literally. Today I head to the river armed with machete, brush cutter, and work gloves. Here is the “before” photo. I’ll keep you posted on the progress.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

One response to “Too Old for a Treehouse?

Leave a Reply

