Will the real Susan Warren Utley please stand up?

This year is all about taking ownership of my writing.

Previously, I wrote under the pen names No One Of Consequence (a little Princess Bride humor) or Susieiz (don’t ask, it started out as something relevant but now I can’t remember exactly what I was going for). Recently, I retired No One of Consequence and started using my real name.

Today Susieiz is also going the way of the DoDo. You can now find me on Twitter at SusanUtley. (Susan Warren Utley was way too long!) Oh Hi Lucy can still be found on Twitter at OhHiLucy.

Follow me! I follow back!

Me & My Muse

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

5 responses to “Will the real Susan Warren Utley please stand up?

  • Susan Warren Utley

    Hi Josette! Thanks for stopping in! Online I have always used something other than my real name. So for me this change was a way to take ownership of my writing and connect with people under my own name. Choosing which name to connect with was not a difficult choice for me other than figuring out how to format a .com address. When I got married there was no question about keeping my maiden name and adding my husband’s. Both names, both histories, are a huge part of who I am as a person and a writer. So it was the natural choice to give credit to both in my writing. I think it just comes down to what you are comfortable with and how you want to introduce yourself to the world. If Josette Marie makes you feel complete, if it is your identity, then go with it!

  • Josette Marie

    Congrats! Yeah, I’ve been debating which name to use for my novels, short stories, etc. I’m known around the Web by my first and last name, for my journalism, but I also stupidly used it for my Jonny Quest fanfiction. I don’t know that I want people Googling Josette Keelor and finding all that if they’re looking for my fiction, which is why I’ve been hanging onto my first and middle names since college. Still haven’t published/sold anything under that name, so I could always go with something else, but I kind of like it. I chose it because I knew I was going to adopt my husband’s name when we got married and I didn’t want some of my stuff to have Quinlan and others to have Keelor. Josette Marie is just me, without the tie to any ancestry, but I still feel like it would be kind of sad to drop all ties to my family like that. Any thoughts?

  • janflora

    Nice to see you too! I am proud of you for this move. I have also been wrestling with the which-name-to-use thing. We must be growing šŸ™‚ Congrats and good luck!

  • Susan Warren Utley

    Thank you! Social networking can be exhausting!

Leave a Reply

