What Side of the Fence Do You Stand On

Immanuel Giel 11:06, 16 August 2007 I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

There are days, and today is one of them, when I question the maturity level of this younger generation and I wonder what is to become of our country and of our planet, not to mention pure simple family values. At times, the callous words and actions of a few misguided, self proclaimed “adults” simply confounds me. It is so easy to for them to point the finger of blame when they don’t feel they have been given their fair share. But they would never turn it on themselves as it might raise the question, “Have I earned my fair share?”

But then I remind myself that it is only a few. I look to my daughter, my niece, my nephew, and their friends and I see the ones who will rise above. I see the many young people who have been raised by my generation, with all our flaws, who have grown into responsible, caring human beings who will lead a nation, who will take over where we leave off, who have earned the title of adult. I see a group of individuals who make mistakes and take responsibility for their own actions, who are proud of where they came from even if it wasn’t perfect, and who daily set out to improve the quality of not only their own lives, but the lives of their friends, their families, and the planet we live on.

If you are part of this younger generation and are wondering what side of the fence you stand on, it’s simple to figure out. If you read this and it makes you angry, or embarrassed, or inspires you to run on over to your own blog and post some bitter diatribe about how the generation that raised you is to blame for all your problems and issues, then you are standing on the side of the fence that will only allow you to go so far. You are the ones who think you have arrived but really you’re just stuck behind a fence. But fear not, for it is never too late to join your peers on the other side, to walk with them, to learn from them, to earn the title of adult. Trust me, they have lot to teach you if you will only listen.

On the other hand, if you read about this intelligent, caring, and successful generation of young people of whom I speak and think, “Heck ya! That’s me!” then you know exactly where you stand. You are on the side that is not fenced in. You have no boundaries. You don’t think you’re better than anyone else. You don’t think you are smarter than your parents. You are the ones who don’t cast blame. You are the ones who look to the past and say, “What could I have done to make this better? What can I learn from this? How will I change the future?” I am proud of you and I thank you for reminding me on days like this that the actions of the few do not represent the whole. You give me hope. Well done!

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

Leave a Reply

