Finding the Funny

Writing funny is hard. In fact, sometimes it can be agonizingly painful. My first article for An Army of Ermas is scheduled to appear tomorrow and for the past twelve hours I have been torn between lawn dart humor and a “how to” piece on covert procrastination. Yesterday three out of four critics voted for lawn dart humor while the fifth had some concerns. I spent the latter part of the evening making the suggested changes and sent it off to my editor this morning.

I suppose my first clue that I might not be cut out for humor writing took place a few years ago when I decided I wanted to apply to be a contestant on Last Comic Standing. I recruited my girls to help me with my material. I stood in front of them nodding and said, “Traffic.” Blank stares. “Okay girls, this is where you come in…make it funny.” My audience wandered away shaking their heads in dismay. Yes, finding the funny can be hard.

Just heard back from my editor and she thinks it is a good fit for Ermas! So lawn dart humor it is. Look for my debut article tomorrow on An Army of Ermas!

Have a great day!

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

One response to “Finding the Funny

  • Laura Best

    Your absolutely right, humour is not at all easy to write. It has to be natural, not forced. I don’t do funny, not on the page.

    I’ll look forward to reading your article!

Leave a Reply

