A Real Turkey Shoot

I’d been in the studio for hours cleaning, organizing, and checking things off the to-do list. I was feeling fairly proud of my progress and then I made the mistake of looking out the window. A turkey! Naturally, I grabbed my Nikon, switched to the telephoto lens, and rushed outside to get a picture. Of course, the turkey had already left the yard but a quick look around and I caught a glimpse of it in the woods. I looked down at the flip flops I slipped into on the way out the door. Rats. Glancing back at the turkey, I saw that he was limping a bit. How fast could a lame turkey move? So into the woods I went, flip flops, skirt and a t-shirt.  What I discovered was that a turkey can move pretty fast, even a lame one.

I snapped a few shots as he led me deeper and deeper into the woods.  I managed to navigate through the trees and underbrush just fine in my flip flops until I walked smack dab into the middle of a spider web. What followed was a series of high pitched squeals and flailing arm movements as I spun around in circles trying to brush the web and spider out of my hair.  Needless to say, I was no longer in stealthy pursuit. The turkey took to the air and crossed a rocky ravine. I managed to circle around a short distance and get two more photos before giving up the chase.

It wasn’t until I turned around that I realized how far I’d gone. The house was no longer where I had left it. As I made my way back home my legs began to itch and I realized just how hot Virginia in June can be. Ah well, nothing ventured, nothing gained. Here are the photographs my turkey friend allowed me to take.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

Leave a Reply

