Prepping for NaNoWriMo 2010

I’ve spent the past few weeks prepping for NaNoWrimo 2010. I’ve set other writing projects aside to focus on my Municipal Liaison duties of planning Kickoffs, scheduling write-ins, writing regional emails, monitoring the forums, and putting out fires. I’ve also attempted to get my life in order so that it can manage itself while I am away for 30 days. Cleaning house, visiting family, paying bills in advance, writing final product reviews, and grocery shopping have consumed much of my spare time normally set aside for writing or creating. My blog has been neglected, my poetry ignored, and my writing stalled. I’ve been so busy that I just now realized that November 1st is just a few short days away and I have no plot, no genre, no characters. I have lots of ideas floating around in my head but nothing concrete. So perhaps this year will be a return to my first year experience where I simply started writing and a story emerged. We shall have to see. For now, I have two reviews to write and post, three fat quarters to mail to my sister with recipes attached, two appointments to schedule for December, and one doctor to see before the end of the month. Wish me luck!

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

2 responses to “Prepping for NaNoWriMo 2010

  • Amy

    I looked at the calender the other day and wow … right around the corner!

    But I really look forward to November now. I love the time I drink too much soda, eat too much sugar, and smoke too many menthols … all in the name of feeding my Muse.

    I’m sorry I won’t be at the kick-off party (gotta work, alas,) but have fun!

  • Josette

    At least you have your priorities right. What have I been doing until midnight for the past several nights? Cutting out magazine pictures of what my characters look like and working on characterization. Good news is I now have most of my cast and outline ready to go for Monday, with just the right amount of ambiguity saved for when I can make it up on the spot next month! Bad news is, I have cleaning, bill paying, and financing ready and waiting for me to complete during the rest of this week. It took me awhile to get in the right state of mind to prepare for this year’s NaNoWriMo, because for the last year my focus has been fixed on last year’s NaNo novel. Now I’m finally ready and totally psyched for the story I’m about to start writing!

    Good luck with yours as well.

Leave a Reply

