Happy Birthday Dad!

For my dad.

Today is your birthday and even though we live on opposite sides of the country I am grateful for how close we really are. I want to thank you for everything you have done for me. I appreciate it all more than you know. Thank you for everything you have taught me. Even though there were times when you thought I wasn’t listening, I was. Thank you for being tough on me when I needed it. You made me a better person.  Finally, thank you for all the years you have watched over your granddaughter. She has turned out to be an amazing young woman and you helped shape her.

Once again, here are some familiar photos. They make me smile. You are my hero Dad. I love you with all my heart. Happy Birthday.

Love,

Susan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

3 responses to “Happy Birthday Dad!

  • Birthday Wishes For Rugs | Birthday Wishes For . . .

    […] Happy Birthday Dad! « Creative ProcrastinationPenny Rugs; Quilting: Expressions in Fabric; Photography; Etsy Favorites; On Life This entry was posted on Wednesday, April 6th, 2011 at 7:38 am and tagged with birthday, Birthday Wishes, dad, family, father, Happy Birthday Dad … Access Full Source […]

  • Sheelah Golliglee

    Susan you never cease to AMAZE me. You are such a wonderful person. There is not a better gift then memories. And the way you put it into words and the presentation leaves me with a lump in my throat, a tear in my eye and the warmest heart felt feeling i have had in a very long time. Sucks though……how do you follow that?!?!?! Happy Birthday Uncle Kent!! I love you and ditto on what Susan said!! 🙂

    Love you!!
    Blessings,
    Sheelah

Leave a Reply

