Better Than This

Better Than This
The man behind The Cat in the Hat.

by Susan Warren Utley

Ted Geisel (Dr. Seuss) half-length portrait, seated at desk covered with his books / World Telegram & Sun photo by Al Ravenna.

I sit before my printer watching as it inhales one white page after another into its guts and spews out mass amounts of black type.  So mechanical, I think, almost as mechanical as my prose.  I bow my head in defeat as I read the words I have chosen to describe a man who is virtually indescribable.  My words are not colorful, my composition is inferior, and I have failed.  Once again, I crumple the pages and toss them in the trash.  I look out my window at the dreary, wet day, stare back at my keyboard with nothing to say. I pick up a pencil and doodle on a page of discarded type.  In between the words, emerges a familiar looking fellow in a tilted stovepipe hat.  Then something magical occurs.  He grins at me mischievously as if to say, “Have no fear, little fish . . . These Things are good Things”.  With newfound confidence and enthusiasm, I retrieve the pages one by one from the trash and start again. …continue reading

This essay provides a brief biography of the best-selling children’s author Theodor S. Geisel, aka Dr. Seuss.  The prolific writer/illustrator  passed away on September 24, 1991, leaving behind a rich legacy of wit and wisdom.  Within his books, Dr. Seuss fabricated a world of strange creatures possessing odd characteristics and unusual enigmas.  It was within that world that he succeeded in revolutionizing the way children learn to read.

Click here to continue reading:
Better Than This

You might also like:
One True Fear

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

One response to “Better Than This

Leave a Reply

