Nature Caught in Motion

Nature Caught in Motion - Photography by Susan Warren Utley

I apologize if the title of this post lured you in thinking you might get a glimpse of a trout captured in the talons of an osprey somewhere in Finland. Alas, I am no Scott Linstead and this is just a common American Goldfinch taking flight from a branch in my own backyard. Simple, but for me, still beautiful.

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

5 responses to “Nature Caught in Motion

  • Amy

    My husband and I were over at his parents’ house this weekend, and they always get some interesting birds on the back deck. John and his mom and excellent about naming a bird by its call, so I am always in awe.

  • Stephen Kahn

    My wife (whose nickname is “Chickadee” regards finches with some disdain. They sit at our feeder and eat one sunflowr seed after another, like little bird piglets. Chickadees, on the other hand, take one sunflower seed, fly off into the woods, bang their little brains out opening it, and then fly back for another. “Now that’s a bird that understands table [bird feeder] manners,” she sniffs with disdain.

    By the way, if you haven’t read it, an excellent and entertaining book on chickadees is called Mr. Picky and Me: Life Lessons from a Master Chickadee.

    http://www.amazon.com/Mr-Picky-Me-Lessons-Chickadee/dp/0971837767

    [I have no connection to author and publisher, aside from being married to a were-chickadee. I imagine there are equally good books about finches, but don’t know what they are. Maybe you can write one.]

    • Susan Warren Utley

      I too have witnessed the greedy behavior of the goldfinch but they are my husband’s favorite. He calls them his canaries

      Thanks for the link to Mr. Picky and Me! I agree, they are a sweet little bird and I do love the cover art on that book. I’m going to check it out. Perhaps it will inspire a book on finches!

  • Patti Ross

    Your title was provacative but this little gold finch in flight is a great treat. For me, catching the little birds in mid-action–given how quickly they flit away–is quite a feat. Thanks for sharing.

    • Susan Warren Utley

      Thanks Patti. It was a treat for me as well. I snapped so many photos the other day of our resident birds that I didn’t even realize I had caught a finch in flight until I transferred them this morning. I only wish I could have captured the two red tail hawks battling over a squirrel in my front yard the next day. Have a great afternoon!

Leave a Reply

