Wordless Wednesday

Roxy Paine's Stainless Steel Tree Sculpture, Washington DC - Photography by Susan Warren Utley

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

3 responses to “Wordless Wednesday

  • Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson

    What a fabulous photo you caught. All that cool metal against the blue sky.

    Wait, is that Zoolander’s Blue Steel? 😉

  • Margie

    This tree is awesome. Too bad it is Wordless Wednesday. I’ll have to go find out about the tree myself!

  • modestypress

    One day the abbot of a Trappist Monastery (where all the monks must remain silent) gathered all the monks. He said to them, “You all have obeyed your vow of silence quite faithfully. I have decided that we will let one monk express one request each year, proceeding in order of seniority. Brother Sebastian, you have been here the longest. Do you have a request?”

    Brother Sebastian, his voice creaky from lack of use, said, “In all the years I have lived in this retreat, we have had oatmeal for breakfast each morning. Oatmeal is fine and nutritious, but I am weary of oatmeal. For the next year, I request we have something else for breakfast.”

    The abbot replied, “That is a reasonable request. I admit, I, also, am a little weary of oatmeal. So it shall be for the coming year.”

    A year later, the abbot gathered the monks again. He said, “Brother Mortimer, it is your turn to express a request about our life here in the monastery. Do you have a request?”

    Brother Mortimer’s voice quavered, “We have gone a year without oatmeal for breakfast. At first, I liked the change. Now, I find myself missing the taste of oatmeal. May we have oatmeal again?”

    The abbot replied, “Now that you mention it, I find myself nostalgic for oatmeal as well. So it shall be. For the next year, we will have oatmeal for breakfast once again.”

    On the third year, the abbot said, “Brother Winston, it now your turn to make a request. Please tell us what you wish.”

    Brother Winston said, “I wish to renounce my vows and leave the monastery, never to return.”

    Shocked, the abbot said, “Why? What is the matter? Why do you want to leave us?”

    Brother Winston replied, “I can’t stand the constant bickering that goes on in this place.”

Leave a Reply

