Taking the Plunge

Photography by Savannah Renee

Photography by Savannah Renee, Picture Me a Story

Creative Procrastination: “Just another way to avoid doing the things I should be doing all the while contributing to a feeling of self importance that I lack when avoiding the things I should be doing.” -Susan Warren Utley

As the quote states, this blog was initially created for the sole purpose of making myself feel self-important and as a tool used primarily for the avoidance of life and all that it demands. Writing under the pen-name No One of Consequence, I shared photos, milestones, rants, raves and even a ghost story or two. But more recently, I’ve used Creative Procrastination to test the waters of the publishing world and life as a writer. I crawled out of my shell, started using my real name and slowly gave up bits and pieces of myself and my writing. In true “dip your big toe in first” fashion, I started by posting a few poems, an essay or two, and some creative non-fiction. In the background, I wrote five novels and a couple dozen short stories. What began as something I did to avoid the things I should be doing evolved into exactly what I wanted to be doing all along, living the life of a writer.

Today I’ve decided to take the plunge. Over the past several years, I’ve had the pleasure to meet some pretty fabulous readers and writers. Yes, I’m talking about you. Some of you are long time subscribers, but most of you I’ve only recently met. Your comments come across as so genuine that I truly trust and value your opinions. So I’m about to do something risky. I’m sharing the first chapter of my third novel, Leaving Lucy. I chose it because it is different from anything else I have ever written and I really like where the story went.  It contains a bit of magical realism and is meant to be read at a faster pace, so it might not be everyone’s cup of tea. Either way, I appreciate you taking the time to read it. Feel free to comment and point out grammar errors or weak points. I can take it. So here is my swan dive, or perhaps…my cannonball.

Leaving Lucy, Chapter One

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

One response to “Taking the Plunge

  • Patti Ross

    I commend your courage! I jsut wanted you to know that I will read and respond to this chapter you have posted, but later, when I have time to really read. Right now I am just quickly peeking in on sites and checking email. I look forward to it! I just wanted you to know. Thanks for taking this chance.

Leave a Reply

