Flash Friday: Chance Meetings by Georgette Sullins

Photo By Shaits (Own work) CC-BY-SA-3.0-2.5-2.0-1.0

Chance Meetings
by Georgette Sullins

Two friends deliberately introduced us. We shared two common languages and he attended my father’s alma mater. A year later, at a bus stop he drove by and asked me where I was going. I told him I needed to get to the metro exchange. He drove me there as we exchanged pleasantries. Another year later our eyes met at the metro exchange. In a city of 20,000,000 people, what are the odds? He waved. He smiled warmly. Again we exchanged pleasantries. That was the last time I saw him. I don’t even remember his name.

Author’s Bio
Georgette Sullins is a wife, mother, grandmother and retired teacher who hails from the great state of Texas. A naturalized American citizen of Dutch descent, Georgette was born in Mexico and moved to the States at an early age. She shares stories of her childhood and the lessons she learned growing up at georgettesullins.wordpress.com. She does her best writing and reminiscing from a chair that swivels and rocks.

Contribute to Flash Fridays
If you have a piece of flash fiction you would like to see featured in a future installment of Flash Friday on Creative Procrastination, please send your submissions using the submission form located here

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

2 responses to “Flash Friday: Chance Meetings by Georgette Sullins

  • Renee Schuls-Jacobson

    This feels like truth. People think they can pick our perfect mate. We are usually not interested. I bet these fictional friends remember.

    And Susan, I swear I’m finishing that Meme before summer! 😉

  • georgettesullins

    Thank you so much for posting this piece on your site today. I appreciate the opportunity to share with your readers. So glad I bumped into your post on FP. “When Green Was a Color” still makes me smile. It was filled with the goodness of remembering how things were and can be.

Leave a Reply

