Happy Birthday Savannah Renée

524396_3702222956217_1294760521_33673542_1569252814_n

"here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that's keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)"

-ee cummings
©E. E. Cummings Trust and the Liveright Publishing Corporation

Savannah Renée, you are without a doubt, the person who has made the most impact on my life and who I have grown to be. Without you, my life would be incomplete. I would be incomplete.

Today, on your 27th birthday, I look back on my life with you and it plays like a movie in my mind. Flashes of a girl running through the woods, chasing ducks and climbing trees, eating strawberries fresh from Grandma’s garden, white confetti floating in the air after a toss of a bean bag chair (from the year you discovered scissors), and long blonde hair under giant yellow sunflowers pinned to floppy hats (you always had a style all your own).

I remember our first moments alone together. I’ll be the first to admit I was terrified. You were so small, I thought you might break. The idea of you so big, I was certain I would fail. But there you were needing me and I needing you. Somehow we managed. You didn’t break and we didn’t fail. I became a better person because of you. And you? You became the sun and the moon and the stars in my sky, the root of my life that keeps me grounded. Happy Birthday, Savannah. You are beautiful. I love you.

“I carry your heart. I carry it in my heart.”

About Susan Warren Utley

Susan Warren Utley is a wife and mother living and writing in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. Her stories are inspired by the unexpected twists and turns of real life and by her muse, a feisty Jack Russell Terrier who occasionally answers to the name of Lucy. View all posts by Susan Warren Utley

4 responses to “Happy Birthday Savannah Renée

Leave a Reply

